Manufacturers invited to power SRT’s Formula E single-seater


The FIA has selected eight manufacturers to develop their own bespoke powertrain for the 2015/2016 Formula E season, powering the Spark Racing Technology single-seater.

Opportunities for innovation
The FIA Formula E Championship’s second year will see manufacturers invited to build and develop their own works powertrains following a promising inaugural season with the Spark-Renault SRT_01E.

ABT Sportsline, Andretti, Mahindra, Motomatica, NEXTEV TCR, Renault Sport, Venturi Automobiles and Virgin Racing Engineering will be able to compete in the championship as full factory teams, running their own powertrain. Indeed, the FIA believes this step will add further prestige to the series that has already made a name for itself on the international stage.

A long-term venture
The changing regulations ensure that Spark Racing Technology remains at the centre of the project by working closely with future manufacturers to develop the cars, as they have done since Formula E’s launch last year. For Spark, the announcement coincides with the arrival of more new opportunities involving automotive marques interested in hybrid and electric innovation.


Round five of the FIA Formula E Championship takes place on 14 March 2015 in Miami. Follow all 40 Spark-Renault SRT_01Es on the official Formula E website.

Crédit photo : © FIA Formula E